Everything in Life is A Miracle- Father Arseny 1893-1973

christtheotokos

A response to when a Hieromonk named Arseny was asked about miracles that happened to him. He said:

Miraculous? Miracles? No, nothing ever happened to me that could be called a miracle. Every priest-hearing the confessions of so many people, giving communion and acompanying the dying, guiding his spiritual children-every priest has remarkable spiritual experiences. The same things can happen to lay people, to any believer, but very often we cannot see the magnitude of what is happening and do not see the will of God, His hand, His providence, His leadership. Yes, what happened to me and what I saw around me shook me up*, made me tremble so that I clearly saw the will of God. I didn’t stop to think whether it was a miracle or simply the result of amazing coincidences in my life. I have always believed and I still firmly believe that God brings us to everything that happens and therefore whatever way we take, we must recognize only His will in everything.

And it is only by understanding things in this way that we can see the will of God. Many events in which I participated amazed me and I said to myself, ‘but this is a miracle’. But then when I realized my own nothingness I understood that it is not for me to see a miracle.

Everything in life is a miracle: the main miracle is that by the will of God man lives on earth. Believe in this!

*Fr. Arseny was a prisoner in the brutal special sector of the Soviet prison camp system in Russia for many years.

Excerpt taken from the book: Father Arseny 1893-1973 Priest, Prisoner, Spritual Father- Translated by: Vera Bouteneff

10 Responses to “Everything in Life is A Miracle- Father Arseny 1893-1973”


  1. 1 Mike April 8, 2009 at 2:05 am

    “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” – Albert Einstein

  2. 2 Mary April 8, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I like that quote. Thanks Mike! 🙂

  3. 3 Mimi April 8, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    What an amazing way to look at priesthood.

    And, I have just ordered this book through Paperback Swap (I got to the top of the wish list) I think I’m the last person in the Orthodox world to have read it.

  4. 4 Mary April 8, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Mimi, this book is truly a must read! My husband recently got this book for me, and I have not been able to put it down since. I’m not done the book yet, but I’ve read majority of it and plan to finish it soon. I highly recommend this book to everyone (Father Arseny 1893-1973).

    I hope your order does not take too long, you’re going to love it!

    God Bless.

  5. 5 Mimi April 8, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Thank you! I’m very excited to read it!

  6. 6 Moses April 11, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Haha cheap post hits! Interesting article though! =P

  7. 7 Mary April 11, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    LoL Moses! You wish you had cheap post hits too, don’t you?! 😛

  8. 8 Moses April 13, 2009 at 2:56 am

    Haha if I did, I’d have the read more with 2 lines left in my posts! 😛

  9. 9 Mary April 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Moses, watch It! 😛

  10. 10 Christina Archer August 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    This is the first year of Orthodox walking and the first time in a dormition fast. Protestants have missed a lot by their neglect of the Theotokus. God Bless everybody!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 355,946 hits

My YouTube Channel

St. Mary of Egypt

Archives

St. Poemen the Great

"A man may seem to be silent, but if his heart is condemning others, he is babbling ceaselessly. But there may be another who talks from morning till night and yet he is truly silent, that is, he says nothing that is not profitable."

St. Gregory the Great

"Every day you provide your bodies with good to keep them from failing. In the same way your good works should be the daily nourishment of your hearts. Your bodies are fed with food and your spirits with good works. You aren't to deny your soul, which is going to live forever, what you grant to your body, which is going to die."

St. Paisius Velichkovsky

"Remember, O my soul, the terrible and frightful wonder: that your Creator for your sake became Man, and deigned to suffer for the sake of your salvation. His angels tremble, the Cherubim are terrified, the Seraphim are in fear, and all the heavenly powers ceaselessly give praise; and you, unfortunate soul, remain in laziness. At least from this time forth arise and do not put off, my beloved soul, holy repentance, contrition of heart and penance for your sins."

St. Tikhon of Zadonsk

“Prayer does not consist merely in standing and bowing your body or in reading written prayers….it is possible to pray at all times, in all places, with mind and spirit. You can lift up your mind and heart to God while walking, sitting, working, in a crowd and in solitude. His door is always open, unlike man’s. We can always say to Him in our hearts Lord , Lord have mercy.”

St. John of Kronstadt

The candles lit before the icons of the Theotokos are a symbol of the fact that She is the Mother of the Unapproachable Light, and also of Her most pure and burning love for God and Her love for mankind.

